It’s Only A T-Shirt’s Matt O’Neill Discusses ‘Patrick’, Future Designs and Sibling Pant Shitting – The Basement Screams Interview

It’s Only A T-Shirt is a new horror shirt company launched this month by Matt O’Neill based out of Melbourne, Australia. The company’s debut design, a wonderful image based on the 1978 Aussie classic Patrick, is available for pre-order now and is being printed in a strictly limited quantity of 200, each housed in a collectible VHS box package. I got pretty excited when I heard from Matt with the details so I decided to throw a couple of questions at him and see if it really is just a t-shirt.

Murphy Screams –  Being the new kid on the block in the horror shirt biz, what do you have planned to set yourself apart from the other companies that already have a strong following ?

Matt O’Neill– I’m hoping what sets us apart will be our unique packaging concepts, the fact that our Tee’s will be fully licensed, and the rarity of the item. So when you go to a horror con, you are the only person there wearing a Patrick T-shirt. I really want to evoke the artwork found on posters and VHS boxes back in the day. I also want to make it more than just a T-shirt, it’s not something you open, pull over your head and spill ice cream down. I hope they become collectors pieces.

Murphy– You said Patrick was an easy choice for your first design being an Aussie based company. Will there be a down under focus on future designs? (I’d love to see an Undead shirt!)

Matt- There will be a few Aussie flicks that get a look in for sure. We are not strictly about Aussie horror, we are looking at British, Spanish, Italian, Thai.. American everywhere! but i want to focus on films that have a small following. Everyone likes Freddy and Jason, and there are plenty of fantastic Tees out there already for those properties. I want to provide Tees for fans of  Patrick or Blood On Satan’s Claw or Raw Meat(I have my fingers crossed for a Raw Meat tee! – Murphy)

Murphy–  Can you give us an idea of what some of the next designs will be?

 Matt – I have a few on the go, and some are further along than others – the main problem is getting the rights. And I don’t mean it’s a problem as in paying for them, but rather finding out who owns some of these titles. Since some of the films are old, their production companies have long gone and it is hard to find where they now reside – but the dvd distribution company Umbrella Entertainment has been a great help in tracking down some titles. I can’t reveal the next T-shirt just yet, as I have promised that the good people who have already signed up on our pre-order list will find out first! but i can promise that it will be a ‘blood soaked’ affair.
Murphy – Are there any up and coming Australian films or directors that haven’t made it across the pond yet we should be looking out for?
Matt – There’s a guy called Cameron McCulloch who is creating some wonderful shorts at the moment, in particular ‘Home’ http://vimeo.com/16295101  one to watch for sure!
Murphy –  What got you hooked on horror? What are some of your favorite films/filmmakers?
Matt – A combination of ‘Michael Jackson’s making of Thriller’ at the age of 5, and holidays to ‘Whitby’ where Dracula was conceived. After that my mum would tape horror films off the BBC that were on too late, and i would get up at 5:00 am and watch them before my little brother would wake up and shit his pants (in fear, he didn’t have a shitting pants problem… I should point that out in case he reads this…) As a result my favourite films and directors have been shaped by the classics. Terrance Fisher is my number one, along with his films Horror of Dracula, Dracula Prince of Darkness, The Devil Rides Out.  However once I moved away from the UK to Australia a whole world of titles banned in my home country were available for rent so the later part of my life has been influenced by The Exorcist, Fulci, Deodato- so I like to think that I have a well-balanced out look on the genre.
Many thanks to Matt for answering my questions. Make sure you head over and pre-order your Patrick shirt before they’re all gone, and keep your eyes peeled for future designs from It’s Only A T-Shirt… It’s Only A T-Shirt… It’s Only A T-Shirt…
 

One comment on “It’s Only A T-Shirt’s Matt O’Neill Discusses ‘Patrick’, Future Designs and Sibling Pant Shitting – The Basement Screams Interview

  1. Pingback: STANCE «

Leave a Reply

